Employers spend countless hours worrying about, and in some cases, trying to ignore, overtime hours worked by their employees. Don't hide from the overtime issue; instead, take charge of it through effective planning and management.
Under the new "Ban the Box" law, California employers are no longer allowed to ask applicants about their prior criminal history before making a conditional offer of employment, in most circumstances.
The State of California has expanded protected parental leave eligibility to employees of qualified companies with 20 to 49 employees. Effective January 1, 2018, the "New Parent Leave Act" provides up to 12 months of protected leave for eligible employees to bond with a new child.
Many California employers may not be aware that the law regarding rest breaks for employees has changed. Employees are no longer required to remain on premises during rest breaks, the breaks cannot be interrupted, and employees can't be "on-call" during rest breaks.
On July 17, 2017, the latest version of the Form I-9 Employment Eligibility Verification form was released by the USCIS (U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.) Employers are required to use this revised form as of September 18, 2017. The new form is dated "07/17/17" in the lower left hand corner of its pages. This form is currently designated for use through August 31, 2019.
An updated version of the Form I-9, Employment Eligibility Verification form, has been released by the USCIS (the United Stated Citizenship & Immigration Services) and must be the only form in use by employers effective January 22, 2017.
On December 1, 2016, the U.S. Department of Labor will implement a long-anticipated change to the so-called "white-collar" exemptions under the FLSA, increasing the minimum salary level necessary for employees to be properly classified as exempt executive, administrative, and professional employees.
Recent changes to minimum wage laws means good news to many workers across the state of California as the state prepares to implement its plan for a $15 minimum wage. The first step for the statewide minimum wage increase is a bump to $10.50 per hour in January of 2017. Additionally, some California cities have passed legislation offering even more.
Cal/OSHA has issued an extreme heat advisory for Southern California for Sunday, June 19th through Wednesday, June 22nd. Temperatures will range from 102 to as high as 120 degrees in inland and desert regions. As we enter this period of potentially record high temperatures, employers and employees must keep heat illness prevention a high priority on the work site.
Effective July 1, 2016, California employers are responsible not only for ensuring their workplaces are free of harassment and discrimination, but must also establish and implement a prevention program for harassment, discrimination and retaliation.